DIY Mustache Magnets

image

While browsing the internet one day, I came across a set of mustache magnets for $10. Anyone who knows me knows my odd obsession with mustaches, and I decided I had to have these. However, being the poor college student that I am, I knew I could make my own mustache magnets for less than $10.

image

All you will need are a magnet sheet, scissors, black (or another color) paint, and a paintbrush. Depending on what magnetic sheet you find, you mad be able to ignore the necessity for paint. I’m sure you can buy a sheet fairly cheap at Michael’s. As you can see from the photo above, I used one of the sheets realtors give out with their faces on them. Also, if you’re anything like me, and your drawing skills are not up to par, you may want to create a stencil. Using the stickers below, which I purchased at Target because they were only a dollar, I traced the mustaches onto a white sheet of paper over the mustache sticker to get a general outline. Then I cut out the mustache from the white paper and used that as my stencil.

image

Pencil will show up enough to see on the black magnetic sheet, so trace the outline of your stencil and simply cut the mustache out using you scissors. I don’t have very high quality scissors, but with some nice small ones you could make much more delicate and detailed mustaches than I display here.

image

In my case, I painted the pictured side black, which needed at least two coats. Once they’re dry, they are ready to hang on the fridge. They’re perfect for overlaying a picture because, let’s face it, mustaches make everything just a little better. And because I had all of the material already laying around the house, this project was free!

image

One thought on “DIY Mustache Magnets”

Leave a Reply

