Quotes on Canvas

image

I’ve seen a million different versions of quotes on canvases using this technique. They’re all adorable, and I have plans to make many more. This is my first attempt, and it is not my favorite example, but I’ll do better next time. Sooner or later you’ll see at least one with book pages and a Harry Potter quote.

For this project, you will need a canvas of any size, magazine pages or clippings, Mod Podge, paint, a paintbrush, and vinyl letters. Instead of magazine clippings, you can also used book or music pages, which I plan to do in the future. My letters are about an inch, and I purchased them from Office Depot. Consider the size of your canvas and how large you want the print to be. My canvas was a square 12 X 12 in. piece.

image

First, use Mod Podge to glue pieces of magazine or other paper to the canvas. Cover it completely. After the glue is dry, you can put down your letters. I put “wish” at the top and “11:11” at the bottom. Be sure the letters are firmly pressed down, and paint the entire canvas using your choice of acrylic paint. It may need at least two coats.

image

When the paint is completely dry, carefully peel off the letters to reveal the paper underneath. When I tried this, I noticed that the paint seeped underneath the stickers, leaving it difficult to clearly distinguish the letters. To fix this, I traced the outline of the letters with black paint. This way, you can see the letters while still being able to see the paper underneath the outline. Depending on how your letters turn out, you may or may not consider this step. Once it’s dry, it is ready for display.

image

Leave a Reply

