A Trip Through my Scrapbook (Part 1)

I am an avid scrapbooker. I started playing around with scrapbooking when I was a kid and have progressed every since then, making my way through at least eight full scrapbooks of my life. Unfortunately, I don’t have as much time or space for it anymore because my small apartment and busy schedule don’t allow for it, but I’m trying to keep it up.

I believe anyone can scrapbook. It’s just about taking your time and making pages that reflect your life and your experiences. In other words, everyone scrapbooks differently. This post will be part of one of at least two peaks into my scrapbook. I pulled out a few of my favorite pages to display. None of them were extremely complicated. They just took time and effort, but mostly time. Personally, it can take me hours to do one page because I am so indecisive about what I want each page to look like in order to make each one stand out from the others.

So here’s a little trip through my life in photos over the last few years.

image
image
image

I have tons of extra photos lying around that never fit into a page, so I grabbed enough to make a sort of collage to demonstrate “the many faces of me.” Some show me as a kid and some are more recent, but they all are cut and fitted together to demonstrate who I am. I painted chipboard letters to give it some texture and used a small stamp to create small text in the corner of the page. Other than that, I just cut the photos to different sizes and arranged them in a square pattern on layered cardstock.

image
image
image

I find it really difficult to make a page when there is only one picture to work with because it means, unless it is a large picture, that you will need a lot of embellishments. In this case, I used a stamp on two layers of paper to add a large embellishment, attached with colored paperclips. I also used a framed look, meaning I added a frame around the page in a different color, which takes up more space. Using a label maker and die cuts from a Cricket machine, I created a title for the top. Lastly, I added flowers to add to the empty space. Sometimes I really enjoy the look of a crowded page with lots of embellishments.

image
image

Like the previous example, I only had one picture to work with, so I tried to add as much as I could to the page. Because in this picture, I am surrounded my a large mosaic and mirrored tiles, I attempted to create a similar pattern on the page. I cut random shapes out of black, silver, and grey paper as well as aluminum foil. Yes, foil. That’s what the shiny pieces are. I was surprised to see that it all came together really well. Don’t be afraid to add random things to your pages just because they aren’t usually considered scrapbooking materials.

image
image
image

Sometimes I worry there are only so many ways to lay out a page when you have three or four photos. Play around with arrangements before you paste it on so that you can create new ways of laying out pages. Layer them if you must. Cut them if you must. And don’t feel like you need to be confined to paper cutters and straight edges. I wanted something extra on this page, so I cut a layered scallop border for the top and bottom of the paper. Add chucks of paper and small embellishments like dots or squares to make your eyes dart around the page. The whole point is to attract attention.

image
image
image

This is the last page I’ll post for now. Like my other examples, I layer paper a lot to give dimension and take up wasted space. Because this page was all about my beautiful niece, I used large chipboard letters to spell her name, and placed smaller stickers toward the bottom to indicated how old she was at the time (she’s three now!). Using different types of string, I hung metal pieces and fastened them together using an eyelet. Β I also used glue to paste the metal pieces to the paper in order to keep them from simply hanging in a way that you couldn’t see what they are.

I’ll plan to post a part two of my scrapbooking obsession soon. My best advice to fellow scrapbookers is not to rush. The memories are already there. They aren’t going anywhere, so don’t glue anything down until you know what you want. Β Scrapbooking is about creating something that reflects who you are, so you should never worry that you’re doing it wrong. There is no wrong way.

One thought on “A Trip Through my Scrapbook (Part 1)”

Leave a Reply

