Valentine’s Day: 50 Things I Love About You

IMG_3418

If you need a Valentine’s Day gift on a budget, try to keep it sweet and simple!

This “50 Things I Love About You” box is easy and thoughtful for any gift occasion. I made this one for my boyfriend this Valentine’s Day to also honor our one-year anniversary.

IMG_3397

Pick up a plain wooden box at Michael’s, paint it with some regular craft paint (I used a metallic red), and decorate it with stickers and other embellishments. I used a painted “love” wood piece for the top and stickers for the inside of the box. I didn’t want to go too overboard with glitter for my boyfriend, but there are so many things you can do with a box and some fun embellishments.

IMG_3390
IMG_3385

Write or type out 50 or so things you love about your significant other. Add in some silly ones. Keep it sweet, fun and personal. I used things like “I love…the way you sneeze in twos” and “I love…that you forget the difference between tights and leggings” and “I love…the weird things you say in your sleep.”

IMG_3393
IMG_3394If you typed them out like I did, print them out with spaces in between. Use a paper cutter to cut them into separate strips. Because my box was fairly deep, I wanted the papers to fill it rather than just sit there. I wrapped each piece around a pencil to give it a little curl and placed them all inside the box, giving it a more full and bouncy appearance.

Bonus: make a card to go with it! I cut out a simple, classic heart shape out of red paper, using the top of heart as the fold. Using rub-on stickers, I spelled out “…guess what?” on the front and “I love you” on the inside because that’s our little inside joke. Sometimes short and sweet is all you need.

IMG_3405
IMG_3404

Lucky for me, my boyfriend appreciates cute, corny gifts as much as I do, and I loved it making it! It’s nice to remind your loved ones how much they mean to you (not just on Valentine’s Day!)

Leave a Reply

