DIY Lamp Makeover

IMG_4094

One person’s trash is another’s treasure. In my life, this is always true. A friend of mine picked up this cute old fashioned lamp at a garage sale and passed it on to me. Recently, I finally got around to making it over with a new color and a new shade.

For a project like this, you’ll need:

  • Spray paint that works on multiple surfaces (I recommend Rust-Oleum)
  • Clear or sealant spray
  • Fabric
  • Wrapping paper (any)
  • Spray adhesive (I recommend Elmer’s Craft Bond)
  • Scissors
  • Pencil

IMG_3657

Above is the original. First, I cleaned the base of the lamp because it was pretty dusty and the paint needs something to hold on to, so the cleaner the better. I removed the shade andΒ took the base outside to spray paint it yellow to match the new fabric I chose for the lampshade. I covered the cord and top with masking tape and spray painted a coat of sun yellow on the base. After that dried for a while, I sprayed it with a second coat. My favorite brand of spray paint in Rust-Oleum, which you can buy at Home Depot for fairly cheap. It works on just about any surface. When it’s dry, spray a coat of clear sealant over it to provide some extra shine and seal the paint.

IMG_3672

While the base was drying, I got started on the lampshade. You may want to iron your fabric first. I always do!

Start by tracing your lampshade onto the backside of a piece of wrapping paper. I recommend using wrapping paper because it will likely be long enough and thin enough to trace, cut and move easily. Place your lampshade at the corner of the paper and roll it upward, keeping track of where you started and using your pencil to trace one side of it. Put it back at the corner and trace along the other side. Depending on the shade, it may go straight or it may curve like mine did.

IMG_3676

Cut out the piece of paper. Lay it around the lampshade to make sure the size is appropriate. Then trace this shape onto the backside of your fabric. Use the scissors to cut approximately a half inch outside of the shape you made on all sides. You’ll want this extra space to fold over the top and bottom and to fold a seam at the end of the fabric. When the shape is cut, once again lay it over the lampshade to see how it will fit. Spray the piece of fabric with a thin layer of adhesive and carefully begin laying it around the lampshade. I recommend Elmer’s Craft Bond for spray adhesive because it is the only one that I have tried so far that truly works for fabric projects. Β Ignore the one in the photo. I learned this was not the correct choice for this project. Go slowly, smoothing the fabric out as you go. My lampshade wasn’t flat, which made it more difficult. This project is easier with a flat lampshade.

When you get to the end, fold the fabric over and glue it down. Carefully use the adhesive glue or even a small amount fabric glue to fold the top and bottom edges down into the shade.

IMG_4096

 

IMG_4098

Once the shade felt secure and the base was dry, I put the two together for a cute addition to my desk! Personally, I like yellow in small doses rather than large, and I love the way this lamp turned out with the grey contrast of the lampshade.

IMG_4090

Leave a Reply

