Geometric Magnets

IMG_4396

IMG_4400

I’m in the process of rethinking the apartment now that Andrew will be moving in, and I’ve decided I want to have a blue and yellow theme in the kitchen. Nothing too crazy, but some small, bright accents would be nice.

So I thought, what could I add? Magnets! It was a pretty easy project, and I like how the colors look against my white fridge.

IMG_4372 IMG_4375

For this project, you’ll need:

  • Sculpting clay
  • Cutting tool
  • Magnets
  • Paint
  • Glue gun or strong hold glue
  • Cup or rolling pin
  • Template or stencil

Start out by printing out the design you want to make, unless of course you are confident in your free handing. I certainly am not, so I just printed out a hexagon and cut it out.

Roll out your clay using a cup or a rolling pin until it is approximately one fourth of an inch thick. Lay the stencil on the clay and use the cutting tool to carefully cut the design.

IMG_4379

Cover the pieces in a few coats of paint and let them dry a little before popping them in the oven according to the package’s instructions. The brand I used suggested baking at 230 degrees for 30 minutes.

Once they’ve cooled, take the pieces outside to spray a thin coat of acrylic sealant to give them a clean shine. After they’ve dried, glue medium sized magnets to the backs using a glue gun or heavy glue. Personally, I prefer my glue gun because I rarely have a good, intense glue on-hand.

IMG_4393

Then it’s time to start hanging! Use them to hang photos, notes, etc. or just make cute designs on your fridge.

Leave a Reply

