Halloween Decor: Paper Garland Curtain

DSC_1064 DSC_1106Despite having a cat who has to chase and attack anything that hangs or moves, I love having hanging decor (like these paper bats or floating candles). It’s a bit of a gamble having these in the house with Oliver, but I’ve been able to make it work so far by leaving them just a little too high for them to reach. He’s very upset about this.

With tradition of my love for hanging decorations, here’s another Halloween project that you can reuse from year to year and won’t cost you much at all. You might even have the supplies already in your closet. I made this stitched paper garlandΒ curtain to dangle from a tension rod at the opening of my small hallway. It turned out to be a perfect fit and a nice Halloween decoration that is well out of the reach of my cat (despite his best efforts).

Here’s what you need:

  • Tension rod
  • Black thread
  • 1 1/2 inch circle punch
  • Black and orange construction paper or cardstock

DSC_0943First, use the circle punch to cut out as many circles as you can from the black and orange paper. Use what you have – I had black construction paper and orange cardstock, so I worked with them. If you’re buying new supplies, construction paper would be easier to manage because it’s thinner and less expensive, but the cardstock does look a little nicer. I varied my pattern with two columns of black followed by one of orange because I had more black paper than orange, and I thought black had a spookier feel to it.DSC_0967 DSC_0970Once you have a whole bunch of circles, load your sewing machine with black thread, lower the needle into the bottom of one circle and begin to sew down the middle. Go slowly if you can and use a tight stitch. When you near the end of the circle, place down another, lifting the foot if needed, and continue to sew circles together until the garland is about 3 feet long (that’s up to you and the size of your doorjam). At the end of the garland, lift the needle and foot, and pull the thread so that you have at least 5 inches to cut away. You want this extra thread to tie the string to the tension rod, leaving a few inches between each string until your door jam is filled (I used 11 strands).DSC_1097 DSC_1036With that, your curtain is complete and you have a creative way to add Halloween decor to your home, and in my case, bring some excitement to my otherwise dull hallway. Happy Halloween and happy decorating!

Leave a Reply

