Pineapple Halloween Costume

DSC_0934 DSC_0938If you’re down to the last minute and still looking for a Halloween costume to wear this weekend, I’ve got you covered with a super easy and super adorable pineapple costume. Now, before I tell you how to make this, I have to tell you the story behind it because every time I told someone I was going to be a pineapple for Halloween this year, they looked at me like I was crazy.

If you’re a How I Met Your Mother fan (which you all should be!), you might remember the pineapple incident…you know, that time Ted woke up with a horrible hangover, a random girl next to him and a pineapple on his nightstand. Well, that story wasn’t actually resolved until after HIMYM actually completed its final season. You can watch more on that moment here.

Anyway, Andrew and I were trying to think of good couples costumes for Halloween this year, but most of our ideas were coming up short because, let’s face it, it’s expensive to acquire certain pieces for Halloween costumes that you probably won’t wear again. I joked that we could be Ted and the pineapple, which I thought was pretty darn brilliant, but it was tough to figure out a Ted costume for Andrew. In the end, I stuck to my pineapple idea and Andrew decided to be a “hanging chad” with me, which was Ted’s Halloween costume for many years. So here it is in all of its glory – an extremely easy pineapple costume!

Here’s what you need:

  • Yellow dress
  • Brown sharpie
  • Ruler
  • Green cardstock
  • Toilet paper roll
  • Scissors
  • Clear glue
  • Headband
  • Wire and wire cutters

First, acquire a yellow dress if you don’t already have one, which I did not. I scrounged one up from the clearance racks at Forever 21 for only $6 (score!). If this is a dress you don’t plan to wear again like mine, use a brown sharpie and a ruler to draw crossing lines on the top part of the dress. It’s a lot easier that trying to draw on the entire dress because of the shape of the skirt.

Once that’s done, cut several varying sizes of leaves from your cardstock. I wanted mine to be tall but have lots of smaller leaves around it, so I cut about eight pieces total in different sizes and then glued them in layers around a toilet paper roll. Once you’re satisfied with the layers, use your fingers to carefully roll down the tips of the leaves to give them some details (trust me, it makes a difference).DSC_0968Using something sharp like a safety pin or tack, poke small holes on both sides of the toiler paper roll (now covered in paper). The holes should be across from each other about 1/4 inch from the base. Cut two pieces of wire about 3 inches long, and thread each one through the holes, wrapping them tightly around the top of the headband to secure the headpiece in place. I used a black headband, which blends in enough with my hair. If this isn’t the case for you, you can try painting the headband or wrapping it in brown fabric.DSC_0941Once your headpiece is securely held together, put it on and you’re completely pineappled! This costume really is an easy one to put together and you will certainly stand out at a party because I bet no one else would think of dressing up as fruit! Happy Halloween!

2 thoughts on “Pineapple Halloween Costume”

Leave a Reply

